Grassroots Football Awards 2022

Cheshire FA's Grassroots Heroes Named

Cheshire FA announces the local winners of this year’s England Football and McDonald’s Grassroots Football Awards.

Cheshire FA is delighted to announce the local winners of this year’s England Football and McDonald’s Grassroots Football Awards, alongside the names of those nominees that deserve special recognition and have been highly commended.

Nominated by fellow members of the Cheshire grassroots football community, the winners of this year’s awards provide a perfect example as to what makes the game so special locally.

The local winners of this year’s awards will now be put forward for regional accolades, with the winners of the regional awards later in line to win the national titles; which are traditionally presented at the FA Community Shield fixture.

Danielle Shields, Football Development Manager at Cheshire FA, said: “We were delighted to receive so many nominations from our community earlier this year, making the decision of our judging panel very difficult. Congratulations go out to all of our winners and those that have been highly commended.

“Needless to say, we’re very lucky to have so many passionate individuals, clubs and projects involved in football in Cheshire – and whilst we’re pleased to award our deserving winners, we’re also aware that our winners count for a small number of the many making football happen across our county every week. Cheshire FA appreciates the work that every single person involved puts into growing our game season upon season.”

Please see below for a full list of local winners for the 2022 England Football and McDonald’s Grassroots Football Awards.

Grassroots Coach of the Year (Youth)
Wayne Dowling (Princes Villa Colts U9s)

Highly Commended – Craig Action (Nantwich Town)

Grassroots Grounds Team of the Year
Ken Monty (Shaftesbury Youth)

Highly Commended – Stephen Deakin (Sandbach United)

Grassroots Club of the Year

Altrincham FC Juniors

Grassroots League of the Year

Chester and Wirral League

Highly Commended – Inspire League

Grassroots Volunteer of the Year
Grace Dodd

Highly Commended – Graham Hallett

Rising Star of the Year

Dougie Ferguson-Davies

Highly Commended – Oliver Bolshaw

Grassroots Project of the Year
Chester FC KCV Project (Jim Green)

Highly Commended – Bladefree, Rakers FC

Grassroots Match Official of the Year
Ruby Sykes

Highly Commended – Georgia Lyons

Spirit of Grassroots Football Award

Zachary Wilmer

Highly Commended – Simon Bilson